C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Key fob problem?

Old 01-05-2017, 12:06 AM
Mo Mosey
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Key fob problem?

Now ive done an extensive amount kf research on this, and just need to find out how to diagnose this without buying stuff blindly..

I have an 07 z06 and it came with its original 07 key fob and an 08+ style fob that ive been using with no problems since may of 2016.

The original fob never really worked (i assumed only one fob works at a time?)

Now, the 08+ fob that ive always been using takes several tries to open the doors. Whethrr its pressing the button on the fob or just opening the door with fob in hand/pocket.

I also get the infamous (key fob not detected on the dic when i try and start it almost 80% of the time. It also has troubke detecting the fob when i turn the car off as well.

Does anyone know how I can simply diagnose what my real issue is without buying parts or even a new key fob? I know switching to the old key fob may fix the problem, but 1, i dont know how to program it to work and 2, I'd like to keep the 08+ style key fob for the car.
Old 01-05-2017, 01:21 AM
ogulcanio
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

If you switch to new style fob your old fobs wont work anymore. This may sound stupid but have you checked the battery of the fob?
Old 01-05-2017, 01:41 AM
Mo Mosey
Instructor

Originally Posted by ogulcanio
If you switch to new style fob your old fobs wont work anymore. This may sound stupid but have you checked the battery of the fob?
Haha, not stupid at all, but yea. I changed them with no luck. The fob is actually worse than what it was before, it never really had a hard time with locking and unlocking via pressing the buttons..
Old 01-06-2017, 12:05 AM
cclive
Team Owner

Received 434 Likes on 371 Posts