Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Thought to ponder on our exhaust/intake valves

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2011, 10:09 AM
mnl119
Instructor

Received 53 Likes on 30 Posts

Default Thought to ponder on our exhaust/intake valves

Being an engineer, I had to ask...

We all know that our valves on the LS7 are sodium-filled.

Sodium has a melting point point just below the boiling point of water at STP of about 97 C. This means that our valve internals are continuously cycling between solid and liquid phase unless there is some alloying compound that of which I am unaware.

Near as I can tell from available literature this phase change also has a density change from ~0.97 g/cc to ~0.93 g/cc meaning that sodium exands when it melts.

I wonder if this continual cycling/expansion of the valve internals can contribute to premature valve failure (bursting?), guide wear, etc.

Thoughts?
Old 08-19-2011, 10:18 AM
Quick Silver Z
Team Owner

Received 1,497 Likes on 1,008 Posts
No-IL Events Coordinator
2020 C6 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (appearance mods)
C6 of Year Winner (appearance mods) 2019
2018 C6 of Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22-'23-'24

Only the exhaust valve is sodium filled, no?

http://www.fbparts.com/ls_general_charts.htm

http://www.precisionenginetech.com/t...esigns-part-2/

http://www.gmhightechperformance.com...nce/index.html

Last edited by Quick Silver Z; 08-19-2011 at 10:24 AM.
Old 08-19-2011, 10:29 AM
mnl119
Instructor

[QUOTE=Quick Silver Z;1578454191]Only the exhaust valve is sodium filled, no?

I did not know that it was only exhaust valves that were sodium-filled. Could explaing why those are the ones with increased failure rates.
Old 08-19-2011, 10:39 AM
Everett Ogilvie
Melting Slicks