Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] New to Corvettes - Buying used 2009 Z06 - Specific things to inspect?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 10:26 PM
John01SS
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default New to Corvettes - Buying used 2009 Z06 - Specific things to inspect?

I was going to order a 2013 ZL1, but I came to my senses and decided to look at used Z06's for the same money. The 1,000 pound (!!) weight difference is what really sold me.

I found a low mileage (10k) '09 Z06 from a private seller. From everything I can tell in looking at photos and chatting with the seller, the car seems to be in pristine shape. Driven once a week, no rain, hand washed, garage kept, "adult owner" - not abused, original runflats, etc.

I'm new to Corvette ownership but I've had several 4th gen Camaros and I do all maintenance and installs myself, so I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty.

I'm looking for advice on what to look for or listen for as I inspect the car and take it for a spin. Not the general used car stuff, just anything specific to a C6 or Z06. One thing I've put on the list from trolling around on the forums is to plan on taking a look at the clutch fluid coloration. Anything else you guys can think of would be very helpful.

On a related note, I'm planning to run a CarFax report on the car. Anybody have a recommendation for some other service to run a check with instead?

Thanks. And I'm looking forward to joining the community!

Old 02-15-2012, 10:36 PM
GMuffley
Le Mans Master

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Dark clutch fluid is not a show stopper. It can get dirty very quickly even when changed regularly.
Old 02-16-2012, 12:28 AM
AzDave47
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 4,500 Likes on 2,593 Posts