Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Some pretty basic C6 suspension geometry questions...

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 12:01 PM
Wytbishop
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some pretty basic C6 suspension geometry questions...

Hello everyone. I'm new. I should say that I'm new to the Corvette forum but not the world of cars or internet forums. A little introdcution and background...

My name is Charlie, I'm a Mechanical Engineer and designer. Sadly, like most Mechie's I don't get to do car stuff in my job, so I have to do it at home on my own time. To satisfy my "jones" for tech and cars, I design cars. At the moment I am putting together a mid engine carbon fiber monocoque chassis that will run on C6 suspension and ZR1 wheels/tires/brakes. Drivetrain will be LS3 or LS7 twin turbo through an Albins AGB10 gearbox.

Here's my current difficulty. I talked to the Tech Transfer people and SEMA and because I'm not manufacturing parts for Corvette owners to buy, GM will not share the CAD files with me so I have to model the suspension components myself. I'm not a Vette guy so I'm not intimately familar with the differences from year to year and trim level to trim level and I don't have example parts. There is a lot of information on the webs but as with anything much of it is either unreliable or contradictory. So I have questions for the Gurus...

1. Is the geometry of the pick up points on the frame from C5 to C6 the same? Is it the same from base C6 to C6Z06? Suspension Analyzer V2.4 has a 2001 vette file in its library. If the position of the pick up points is the same I can use that information to locate the control arm pivot points and balljoints in space which will really help alot.