Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] 2007 z06 1900 miles, never had oil changed. question

Old 05-27-2015, 06:26 AM
RPOL36
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2007 z06 1900 miles, never had oil changed. question

Looking at a 2007 z06 with 1900 miles and has never had the oil changed.

If I buy this car is there any issue driving it 2 hrs home?
Old 05-27-2015, 07:59 AM
BigVette427
Drifting

Received 405 Likes on 253 Posts

I'm no expert on motor oil, but I'd prefer to have a local Chevy dealer at the least change the oil before you drive it any further than you have to.

Obviously with a C6 Z06, the car sits so low and you need it level to properly drain, otherwise I'd say just do it yourself in the drive way or what have you, my Dad and I did that on a C3 big block that had been sitting for 20+ years one time.

I wouldn't hesitate to suggest to the owner that they neglected it by not changing the oil in eight years, and you will want to flat bed the car to your house or a local dealer, and get them to drop the price another $500.
Old 05-27-2015, 08:33 AM
rockinSeat
Burning Brakes

Received 96 Likes on 71 Posts

What does the oil look like on the dipstick? What state is the car in? Arizona or Louisiana? What about the gas? Is it ancient too?
Old 05-27-2015, 08:47 AM
Random84
Safety Car

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Plan on changing all the fluids as quickly as reasonable - with emphasis on the gas and engine oil.

Motor oil breaks down over time, even without use once exposed to air and humidity. Depending on its present state, it could be detrimental to bearing life if you drive it.
Old 05-27-2015, 09:04 AM
psp6158
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 227 Likes on 176 Posts

Originally Posted by Random84