Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Magnetic Ride--honest opinion

Old 06-25-2013, 01:18 PM
BADA BING
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Magnetic Ride--honest opinion

I am about to place my order for the C7 but having issues deciding on magnetic ride. I have a c6 now with magnetic ride and honestly I hardly ever use it (always keep on sport). I do use it but really just because its there. So the question is: should i get this 2,000.00 option on the C7 z-51 or save the money? If I do get it is the resale for the Magnetic ride really worth the 2k option on the front end??

Any help with this would be great. like to get some perspective here.
Old 06-25-2013, 01:32 PM
herman2p
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As a mechanical engineer, I think it is the only option I would not want to live without. Improves ride and performance. That is like having your cake and eating it too. Get it!!
Old 06-25-2013, 01:39 PM
CPhelps
Drifting

Received 303 Likes on 173 Posts

The system is able to alter damping to suit conditions even within modes, so theoretically the ride and performance are better in "sport" than having traditional dampers set up for a stiffer ride.

That said it sounds like the non MRC dampers on the Z51 are higher quality than in the past, and those who have had to replace a shock on the older systems have been faced with significantly higher replacement costs, so there is possibly more than just the initial purchase price to consider.

It is definitely one of the most advanced suspension systems available period, so I can easily see the cost being worth it. When we're talking about your money here, the extra 2k is a drop in the bucket considering total vehicle costs. :-P
Old 06-25-2013, 01:59 PM
BADA BING
Racer