Sponsored by:

First Impression

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2014, 07:14 AM
WKMCD
Race Director

Received 73 Likes on 48 Posts

Default First Impression

I finally picked up the TR Z51 3LT A6 coupe yesterday. When I first saw it in the Corvette Room at Bud's Chevrolet my first thought was "That's a whole lot of red." I absolutely love it. It's definitely the brightest colored car I've had. The color heads up make it much more apparent and usable than the monochrome. The sound system is acceptable and I doubt I'll replace that which is usually one of the first things I do. I have the NPP which is nice but still very quiet even in sport and track modes. Ride quality with the Mag Ride is excellent. I stayed in touring mode most of the time but did use manual so I could vary the speed on the 540 mile drive home. Love the smaller steering wheel. GM got that right this time. The seats are vey comfortable for my 6'3" 180lb frame. Controls were easy to use but I'm still learning.

40 miles from home I noticed the break-in rev limited was gone so I gave the car a small test. I was impressed! Coming from a 575RW 427 M12 3.90 C5 I was concerned that I would miss the neck snapping jolt. I did but the C7 is a different animal. The C5 was my boy racer and this is a much more grown up car if that makes sense. I think I'll be happy for a couple months anyways. The plan is to throw an Eforce blower on it this winter.

Bottom line for me, there are not a ton of things that I feel I need to improve on. The suspension works, the interior is comfortable, the power is adequate for now.

Tom from Bud's was great to deal with and highly recommended!

Really well done GM!

Last edited by WKMCD; 05-20-2014 at 07:26 AM.
Old 05-20-2014, 07:33 AM
2vette2
Le Mans Master

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 413 Likes on 189 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21

Old 05-20-2014, 07:37 AM
andoneward
Advanced

Received 19 Likes on 5 Posts