Sponsored by:

Automatic Transmission Overheating

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2014, 12:37 AM
mousemaster
Heel & Toe

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

Default Automatic Transmission Overheating

I am an instructor with the BMWCCA. We had an autocross on Saturday and I instructed a student with a new C7 with the Z51 package. I have owned a C3 many years ago and have followed the new C7 somewhat. I was disappointed when a DCT was not offered. Instead the brain trust at GM decided a shifting automatic was "just as good".

We did a couple of laps together. The student had previously run Autoclub Speedway in Fontana the week prior. I asked about overheating his auto transmission. The new C7 has a pretty neat display that allows you to view the exact measured temperature of many components including the gearbox. Regrettably, my student reported the gearbox overheated at Autoclub during his track day (300 degrees) requiring him to "shut it down". For a pretend track car, that is most regrettable.

He stated the new Z51 package should have track cooling similar to what the new Z06 will have--- a larger transmission cooler in the right rear area of the car. However, I am most concerned that the Z06 engine will drive the temperatures higher more quickly due to higher torque/performance/use demanded of the transmission.

It is most disappointing that GM did not build a DCT for this car. It is more regrettable that it is not a track car since overheating on a fall day at Autoclub should NEVER happen. Really, how hard is it to provide adequate cooling for the automatic gearbox that you claim is track capable. Well guess what GM, it is NOT a track car. A red flag of note is factory instructions to change the automatic transmission after 24 hours of track use. A good owner would do it anyway but is this an admission of future problems? Who is keeping count of those hours on the track? Hopefully a good owner who is going to be honest on resale.