Sponsored by:

24 year old looking at buying a C7, have questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2014, 02:00 AM
Workaholic7
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 24 year old looking at buying a C7, have questions

I'm one of the kids who grew up in the 90's with posters of the C5 Corvette, Ferrari F355, and Lamborghini Diablo hanging above their bed. Never would I imagine I'd be in a financial position at my age to buy a dream car. As soon as I saw the C7 in pictures over two years ago, I knew one day I must have one. That day has come faster than I thought.

A little about me...I'm Chris and I live in a relatively small town in Iowa, went to college at a state university and got my bachelor's and my first job out of college gives me about $65k/ year in which to fund my lifestyle. I graduated in 2013 with $28k in student loan debt and will have it paid off by this coming January. I have a low cost of living which has allowed me to save up quite a chunk of money in my 401k, ROTH IRA, and other investment account. I now want to splurge on myself a bit with a new (or possibly preowned) Stingray.

My questions are...I'm looking to buy in May or June...would it be prudent to waste two months of ownership time to buy a 2015 as the 2016s are appearing on dealer lots? What type or discount or incentive would I be able to score?

I'm looking at buying a base coupe 1lt with the ZF1 package, performance exhaust, and the 8 speed automatic. The supplier price Is about $55k..will it be possible to find any preowned 1lt cars for around $45k this coming summer? I like to be prudent with my money and a low mileage C7 would make my wallet happy.

What's my best course of action in obtaining my dream car? Will it be possible to beat supplier pricing?

Any info is greatly appreciated!! Thank you and I hope to soon be a proud member of the C7 community!

Chris
Old 12-16-2014, 03:24 AM
Skid Row Joe
Team Owner

Received 4,002 Likes on 2,889 Posts