Sponsored by:

The absurdity of the C7 Track Preparation Guide

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 11:42 AM
baron95
Racer

Received 271 Likes on 140 Posts

Default The absurdity of the C7 Track Preparation Guide

I'm a first time Corvette owner (2015 Z51 2LT A8 Shark Grey), purchased 4 days ago. I love the car - great capabilities, yet quite comfortable.

I am a NASA HPDE Instructor and occasional racer (just to keep skills up), and have driven and instructed on a variety of street cars on road circuits.

I'm shocked at what GM is expecting Stingray Z51 owners to do to drive on a track, which I have never been required to do on any other car, from cheap Mustang GT to Porsche GT3.

As I understand it, when I go to the track, I have to:
  • Remove front wheels to install cooling rings with safety wire.
  • Flush the brake fluid and replace with hi-temp DOT4 fluid.
  • Flush the oil system and replace the oil with 15W50, and overfill it.
  • Set alignment to track settings.
During track driving only the driver seat may be occupied - no one can be in the passenger seat - no instructor/coach allowed!!!

Then, after the track I have to:
  • Pull the front wheels to remove the cooling rings, or it will cause corrosion.
  • Flush the brake system and put DOT3 fluid back!!! Why?! Why can't this car run all the time with DOT 4?
  • Flush the oil system and replace the oil with 5W30 Dexos spec which is "the only approved oil" or risk voding warranty.
  • Set alignment back to standard settings.

Is this a joke? We are talking about $700+ in expense at normal shop/dealer rates for each track day!!! This for a car that is supposed to be the "track package" model?

What are people who are tracking their Stingray regularly doing?

Should we have a petition into GM to clarify that DOT4 and 15W50 and cooling rings can be left in the car for the warm weather season, if multiple track events are planned?

Any other ideas/suggestions?

Last edited by baron95; 04-16-2015 at 04:05 PM.