Sponsored by:

Insurance company listed my base car VIN as a Z51

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2015, 09:32 AM
srobert910
Burning Brakes

Received 1,138 Likes on 466 Posts

Default Insurance company listed my base car VIN as a Z51

I went to switch insurance companies and I get to the part to enter my vin. Progressive's system then said that my base car was a Z51 and raised the rate considerably. I called customer service and they said their system was right and that's what they had to go by. Needless to say, I'm not a progressive customer haha. Anyone else run into this before?

Popular Reply

10-08-2015, 11:00 AM
Zymurgy
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15,067 Likes on 6,169 Posts

Originally Posted by l.i. bruce fan
I wonder if we can get anything definitive from Chevy/GM to help these insurance companies interpret the VINs correctly?

Any suggestions?
Yes, this:

Originally Posted by Zymurgy
C7 VINs include a code that indicates trim level, transmission and Z51/non-Z51 or Z06:

2016 VIN Decoding:

This is an example of a VIN # for a 2016 Corvette Coupe (3LT, Z51, MN7):

1 G 1 Y L 2 D 7 X G 5 1 0 0 0 0 1

There are 17 characters. Starting with first character on left the codes are:
01. "1"= Built in US
02. "G"= General Motors
03. "1"= Chevrolet
04. Denotes the car line: Corvette is a "Y" body.
05. Provides more info about the car:
.. A=1LT M/T
.. B=1LT A/T
.. C=2LT M/T
.. D=2LT A/T
.. E=3LT M/T
.. F=3LT A/T
.. G=Z51 1LT M/T
.. H=Z51 1LT A/T
.. J=Z51 2LT M/T
.. K=Z51 2LT A/T
.. L=Z51 3LT M/T
.. M=Z51 3LT A/T

.. N=Z06 1LZ M/T
.. P=Z06 1LZ A/T
.. R=Z06 2LZ M/T
.. S=Z06 2LZ A/T
.. T=Z06 3LZ M/T
.. U=Z06 3LZ A/T
.. 9=export (Non US, Non Canada)
06. Body style: "2" = Coupe, "3" = Convertible
07. Restraint code: D – AJ7 Active Manual Belts, Airbags – Driver & Passenger and Seat Side
08. Engine: LT1 = "7", LT4 = "6"
09. Check Digit – 0 to 9 or X
10. Model year: G (2016)
11. Plant: Bowling Green = "5"