My experience with a 2015 Corvette A8 Z51

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2015, 06:49 PM
HopeFails
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My experience with a 2015 Corvette A8 Z51

To Whom It May Concern/Help:

I used this site to read up on Corvette news and opinions of the new generation C7. I owned a C6 for many years and enjoyed it. I sold that car for a Cadillac CTS-V Coupe. I truly loved the Cadillac. The new Vettes came out, so I waited for a year to purchase one, waited until any of the problems were fixed. Spent time on this site reading opinions and problems, basically doing my homework, before purchasing this vehicle. I'm a driver, and it's one of the few things I do with my free time. I put roughly 20,000 - 30,000 miles on a car a year. The CTS-V that I came from was bullet proof. It had a few small issues that are common to them. Squeaky Ricaros, squeaking front shocks, but I put 25,000 miles on it in 1 year without a hitch, tires, maintenance, and down the road I went.

I purchased a beauty of a 2015 2LT Z51 A8 in Blade Silver with all the options that I wanted on it. PDR, Mag Ride, everything but a few small options that I didn't need.

I've had the vehicle for 1 week. I put 1,000 miles on that week. Mostly freeway and business trips. Nothing long / hard on the car at all. No spirited driving as it's all in town / busy city. Here's the description of my one week of ownership:

Oil Cooler Oil Leak - Went into my garage and saw fresh oil. Looked under the car, and sure enough, the oil was coming from what appears to be a faulty gasket for the oil cooler (being diagnosed as we speak).

Center Vent Rattle - Seems like it's a common issue, when I took it into the shop, explained, they are fixing it.

Rear Speaker? Squeak from HELL - When it's warm out it squeaks and squeaks. Ambient temperature has dropped in the area, and dealer can't duplicate the problem. I'll video it next time. Pretty much the worst squeak I've ever had a vehicle do.