Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ECO Comparison

Old 02-08-2016, 03:30 PM
carllangford
Pro

Received 112 Likes on 65 Posts

Default ECO Comparison

Has anyone ever ran a decent ECO comparison (System On and System Off)? Being an engineer and the car being a daily driver I was contemplating logging some data to/from work with the system On and Off. My commute is 20 miles and the day-to-day traffic is fairly consistent with a good bit of highway/cruise driving. The part of this I don't look forward to is ECO On where my exhaust gets quiet .
Old 02-08-2016, 04:58 PM
aj98
Melting Slicks

Received 168 Likes on 137 Posts

auto or manual?

On my M7, Eco wont kick in unless I'm in 4th gear or higher. 4th gear @ 70 may bring you above the magic 1700rpm for exhaust note, but the significantly higher RPM
(as opposed to 70 in 7th gear) may offset the Eco gains : )
Old 02-08-2016, 05:05 PM
vettman96
Drifting

Received 45 Likes on 37 Posts

Default eco

I have run eco exclusively through 2 tanks of fuel, then 2 tanks in tour
and have not seen any significant change in either mileage or
performance. Pulled the NPP fuse to maintain exhaust note.
Old 02-08-2016, 05:11 PM
Curahee
Pro

Received 123 Likes on 76 Posts

Originally Posted by carllangford
Has anyone ever ran a decent ECO comparison (System On and System Off)? Being an engineer and the car being a daily driver I was contemplating logging some data to/from work with the system On and Off. My commute is 20 miles and the day-to-day traffic is fairly consistent with a good bit of highway/cruise driving. The part of this I don't look forward to is ECO On where my exhaust gets quiet .
I have never used, and will never use the AFM. It's good, at most, for an extra one or two MPG at highway speeds and the "clunking" back and forth between 8 cyl.and 4 cyl. is hard on the motor. IMO
Old 02-08-2016, 06:33 PM
meyerweb
Safety Car

Received 483 Likes on 320 Posts