Sponsored by:

Are you still using run flats?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2016, 10:09 PM
Mister Big
Burning Brakes

Received 316 Likes on 198 Posts
Default Are you still using run flats?

When upgrading or replacing worn OEM tires, are you still getting run flats or are you replacing them with conventional tires? And if you're replacing with conventionals, do you carry a tire sealant/pump with you?
Old 04-19-2016, 10:17 PM
owc6
Team Owner

Received 4,186 Likes on 2,679 Posts

Yes, went with RFs, and yes, carry compressor, goo and plugs. I travel too much to do otherwise. Whether I can fix the tire on the side of the road is another question. Which is why I stayed with the RFs. I've had too many flats to consider non-RFs for myself.

YMMV.
Old 04-19-2016, 10:21 PM
gwalsh88
Burning Brakes

Received 803 Likes on 163 Posts

I drive my car everyday as it is my only one (43,000 miles so far on my C7). I have been using run flats since 2005 when I bought my C6. I have gotten many flats over the years and have never been stranded. Run Flats are the best. By the way unless the puncture is very close to the sidewall you can have your run flats repaired.
Old 04-19-2016, 10:40 PM
EcoBrick Bob
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 76 Likes on 63 Posts

I took mine off at 7,500 miles. Installed Pilot Super Sport non run-flats. They ride much better and handling is more predictable in my opinion.

The only time a run-flat will help you if you have a blowout or serious damage to a tire while driving. If you pick up a nail, you can usually get to a place to repair it without damaging a tire. Run-flats can be repaired if the patch isn't too close to the sidewall, but most people recommend replacing them if you have a flat.

So... I take my chances.
The following users liked this post:
NinjamanZ51 (04-19-2016)
Old 04-19-2016, 11:11 PM
NinjamanZ51
Burning Brakes

Received 155 Likes on 102 Posts
2017 C7 of Year Finalist

Originally Posted by EcoBrick Bob