Sponsored by:

Sales tax liability question

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2016, 03:46 PM
mschuyler
Safety Car

Received 3,818 Likes on 1,614 Posts
Default Sales tax liability question

Boardwalk in CA has some great prices on in-stock Vettes, but they state that of you pick the car up in CA, you must pay 9% sales tax. I live in WA and the rule here is that of you buy a new car elsewhere and bring it to the state, you must pay WA sales tax where you register the car UNLESS you've had the car more than six months.

Last time I bought a car out of state in GA I was NOT required to pay GA sales tax because I am a WA resident and intended to register the car here in WA. When I got back to WA (GREAT road trip of 6788 miles!) I paid sales tax here in WA.

So it sounds like I would be required to pay sales tax both places, which would nullify any savings. Does anyone here "know the rules" better than I do in these cases?
Old 04-27-2016, 03:52 PM
dvilin
Team Owner

Received 7,922 Likes on 4,808 Posts

My understanding of the rules is the same as yours, you pay the sales tax in the State you register the car.
Old 04-27-2016, 03:56 PM
RicK T
Team Owner

Received 556 Likes on 452 Posts

Not an expert but after watching these things over the years it seems that the typical case scenario is, you pay the Ca sales tax then when you get back to your home state, I don't know if Wa participates though, your home state gives you a credit for the Ca tax you paid. If there is a difference, you pay Wa, if you paid Ca more than you would in Wa, then you're just out the extra.

I'm sure someone who has done it will chime in today.
Old 04-27-2016, 04:07 PM
robert miller
Team Owner

Received 1,762 Likes on 1,529 Posts

Originally Posted by dvilin
My understanding of the rules is the same as yours, you pay the sales tax in the State you register the car.
You pays the taxes in the state you live in... Not the state you buy the car in. I would tell them to look the law up. Robert