Allocation question

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2016, 08:41 PM
mdevens
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Allocation question

Hello,

I'm really new to ordering a car and I asked some questions on another thread about my new order and now, I have a continuation of the story and really, just a question about allocation.

The car I ordered is a C7 2LT Z51 Manual trans.

I asked my dealer what is going on and what the status is with my order and if he had allocation. I ordered my car on May 14th and I found out (through this forum) that the status still is 1100 (which, i learned means GM hasn't accepted the order yet) as of early this week.

He responded with "sold orders are picked before normal retail orders regardless of allocation" and due to the constraints of z51 and the manual transmission (plus the release of the GS and new model year of 2017), it would be July when my car is ready.

So, is that true? Are sold orders picked first regardless of allocation?

Thank you for any info.. I'm really new to this.

Last edited by mdevens; 06-08-2016 at 08:42 PM.
Old 06-08-2016, 09:04 PM
Zymurgy

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15,075 Likes on 6,173 Posts

Unless things have changed, NO. Sold orders are "picked up" only if the dealer has an allocation with all of the allowed constraint items on it. Then the dealer must place your order against that allocation.
The following users liked this post:
mdevens (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 09:15 PM
Larry/car
Race Director

Received 621 Likes on 423 Posts

I agree! I got caught in the allocation process when I ordered my 2014. Took nine months to get that car and two dealers! Your dealer has insite to his allocations and can provide proof of. If he doesn't prove the allocation, cancel the order or be prepared to wait. My second dealer showed me the allocation and the date assigned to it, my order was picked up accordingly.
mdevens (06-08-2016)
Old 06-08-2016, 10:22 PM
mdevens
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts