Sponsored by:

Cranks but no start

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2024, 03:58 PM
ChrisBorton
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cranks but no start

Ok so I’m pretty new to corvettes. Bought a 2015 stingray 2LT auto 60k miles. Had it for about 2 weeks then it died while driving. No lights or anything came on. Didn’t notice til I went to take off from a stop sign so it must have died while coasting to the stop. Then it wouldn’t turn over. Had a tow truck come out to jump it and the battery was low from trying to start it so many times. Wouldn’t jump start. I tow it home and throw the battery on a norco charger and get it to full charge and leave it for a couple days. The car starts and I move it to my garage and hook the charger back up. Left it hooked up all winter. Now about 2 weeks ago I took it off the charger and started it up. It fired right up. Ran a little rough. Went to go drive to auto zone to test the battery and less than a mile from my house it does the same thing, as I was coasting to stop the car died and wouldn’t start back up. Tried to jump the car and it wouldn’t start back up. Tow it home and change the battery. Still won’t start. But if I leave it sit for a week, it will crank and turn over right away like 3rd crank, but then immediately die again. Had a little over 3/4 tank of gas. Bought some heat and fuel system cleaner (was hoping maybe just got some bad gas) and put it in and then topped it off with another 5 gallons of gas. Let it sit for a day and then it cranked and turned over but then immediately died again. But this time I was able to crank and turn over 3 times. It immediately died every time, but still turned over 3 times. Have not been able to have it stay running for even one second since it died while driving 2 weeks ago. All the gauges and everything work. I don’t understand why if it sits for a week it will turn over.
Old 03-11-2024, 05:22 PM
dplotkin
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!