C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Wrench Questions Help Requested

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2015, 12:56 AM
Cliff358
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Torque Wrench Questions Help Requested

I'm not a mechanic and will never be mistaken for one. I would like to change out the lug nuts on my c7 with some Black locking lug nuts. Apparently, that is best done with a torque wrench. In the past I always just used a star wrench to tighten or remove the lug nuts and never worried about how tight I might get them.

So, does it matter what brand I buy? Do I need a clickable, digital, calibrated, etc.? How about 1/4", 1/2" or 3/8"? Do I need to jack up the car just to swap out the lug nuts? Do I need a separate wrench to take them off first?

These may be simple questions to many people on here but I haven't had to work on a car in over 20 years. I know I could get this done at the dealer but I would like to be able to check the tightness on these things once in a while which is why I'm looking to buy a torque wrench. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-21-2015, 08:57 AM
Boiler_81
Drifting

Received 429 Likes on 307 Posts

I would get a click 1/2 drive from Sears. They are on sale all the time and are perfectly fine for this application.

No need to jack up the car. Just remove and replace one nut at a time. Make sure you recheck the torque after driving it a few miles and then again at 50 or so.

I wouldn't use the torque wrench for removing bolts. I use a breaker bar.

Here is a pretty good video showing how to use a torque wrench for tightening wheel lug nuts.

Last edited by Boiler_81; 05-26-2015 at 07:36 PM.
Old 05-21-2015, 09:36 AM
juanvaldez
Team Owner

Received 493 Likes on 364 Posts

Or the 1/2" torque wrench from Harbor Freight, less that $20. Works fine for wheels.
Old 05-21-2015, 09:03 PM
meyerweb