C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance data recorder after fit

Old 02-04-2016, 05:31 PM
big red one
Instructor

Received 39 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Performance data recorder after fit

Hi guys, I've been reading through the forum and found some threads about this but no conclusions.

Can you fit a pdr to a c7 after delivery?

Ian
Old 02-07-2016, 04:09 PM
meyerweb
Safety Car

Received 483 Likes on 320 Posts

Can you? Probably.

Would it be simple? Or reasonably priced? Not a chance.

Might want to consider this instead:

http://virb.garmin.com/en-US/virb-xe

No, I have no personal experience with it.
Old 02-07-2016, 04:47 PM
Mad Dog 24
Drifting

Location: Syracuse-Central Square New York Winer of the all Corvette race WGI 8/23!
Received 364 Likes on 256 Posts

My car didn't come with the factory recorder but for sure it IS the way to go. I track my car so data and video is important. So far I bought a used AIM solo DL data recorder for 300 new its 700 to 900. Still need the AIM HD camera and the data cable. I will spend another 1k or more to complete the package. Then install it in the car, data recorder Velcro to the dash camera stuck somewhere near the mirror, POS. For all new aftermarket equipment one could spend 2k to 3k easy.

Wish there was a way to upgrade to the OEM set up too!
Old 02-08-2016, 07:28 AM
TJay74
Safety Car

Received 328 Likes on 213 Posts

I highly doubt it, GM has done everything they can now to make sure features cant be added after the car is built. Dealers no longer have the ability to change the programming in the computer modules to anything other than how that module came from the factory for that particular VIN.

The days of past of using another vehicles VIN are long gone.
Old 02-09-2016, 11:35 AM
Seju
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts