C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

High pressure fuel leak

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2017, 10:25 PM
colin mciver
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default High pressure fuel leak

Five weeks. That's how long my 2015 C7 has been in the Toyoda dealership. That's right, Hilo Hawaii does not have a real Chevy dealer. The car smelled of raw gas when I drove home. Being a mechanic I thought it might be a leaking injector. Lucky for me they do sell Camaro's which use LT1 engines. Long story short. new injector, manifold and O rings. Still leaks. Now they tell me the entire fuel line needs replacement. Which requires removing the transaxle system, exhaust and other parts. This will take three days of work or more. Has anyone else had this problem ? I read that one of the C7R race cars had a fire from a fuel leak down in Florida last week. Hope this will not be a common event.
Old 01-15-2017, 11:23 AM
RonC7
Melting Slicks

Received 1,298 Likes on 859 Posts

Are you sure it is a high pressure leak? There is a known issue of fuel vapor leaks that may be easy to rule out:

http://www.corvetteactioncenter.com/...eaks-1312.html

I didn't realize Hilo didn't have a Chevy dealer. The Kona dealer closed several years back. I'm a Kona resident one week a year.

Ron
Old 01-15-2017, 04:47 PM
colin mciver
Intermediate

Originally Posted by RonC7
Are you sure it is a high pressure leak? There is a known issue of fuel vapor leaks that may be easy to rule out:

http://www.corvetteactioncenter.com/...eaks-1312.html

I didn't realize Hilo didn't have a Chevy dealer. The Kona dealer closed several years back. I'm a Kona resident one week a year.

Ron
The Toyoda dealer is the Chevy dealer. They sell mostly trucks and a few Camaros. Not qualified for Corvettes as of now.To be fair the service has been working hard to repair my C7.