C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Another View of the A8

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2014, 09:49 AM
Foxer55
Drifting

Received 23 Likes on 14 Posts

Default Another View of the A8

I'm a Systems Engineer by trade, that is, the kind that looks across the entire life cycle of a program or product. I find he idea of an A8 tempting but one of my thoughts is, how does it affect the entire life of the car I'm buying.

I selected the M7 for my Z06 because, while it will be my car for the time I own it, how will it affect me and the car in the future? Will it affect the appeal and resale value of the car? Will it affect the real value of the car. What if the A8 turns out to be a loser in its operating environment, a liability that needs constant attention? Nobody can answer that question yet and will not be able to answer it for a few years. I know that the M7 will certainly be less risk in the field than the A8 because its a straight forward solution. I see more risk in the A8 and I am not willing to take that much risk with my hard gotten $100,000.

I also know some who have gone automatic and they are not happy with track performance of the C6 A6. If I got the automatic I would expect performance comparable to a real track car and I don't expect that from Corvette - not yet.

Ultimately, as I look across my use of this car as a pleasure car, a show car, and a track car, I just think the A8 is a risk. And it wouldn't surprise me to find out that, 10 or 20 years from now, either me or the next owner will find he has a collector Z06 with a prized M7.
Old 10-02-2014, 09:59 AM
BOBSZ06
Le Mans Master

Received 319 Likes on 205 Posts

I'll be going with the A8 for the reasons you didn't mention:
1. Broader appeal to more people on resale;
2. Much easier to shift compared to the M7;