C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

A little drama with cold tires today!

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2014, 09:42 PM
TeamOGI
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default A little drama with cold tires today!

Just want to warn everyone that cold tires (even on the non ZO7 package) are more than a little scary. I wish I had been using the PDR so others could see how quickly things went bad.

I was heading home from work, here in Northeast Ohio, in sunny 24 degree weather. It had not rained in two or three days and there was no gravel on the road. I had driven only a few hundred yards when I came to a stop sign on a very slight slope. I needed to turn left onto a two lane road with a center turning lane.

I am still new to the beast, so I do not take risks when there is any traffic around, so I waited until there was plenty of room, took my foot of the brake (enjoying the hill assist), eased the clutch out and throttled to less than 1500 RPMs (just a guess - I definitely was a long, long way from stomping it). The rear end came immediately loose and the nannies kicked in as I backed off - I was now in the middle of the oncoming lane - not stalled but ready again to move on and as I did, the rear end again came immediately loose. Now there were cars rapidly approaching from both directions and I did not really have time to back out completely and regroup so I stayed in it (again no serious revs) and as I turned left into the center turning lane, the rear end stayed loose and fishtailed into a perfectly centered position. I was in sport mode and there was no exhaust bark - a very tame effort throttle wise on my part.