Canadian Events Canada, eh?

Searching for a C6/GTA

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2007, 10:05 PM
dlynch
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Searching for a C6/GTA

We were at the Rennlist gathering (Chapters) a couple of weeks ago. BMW M-Roadster.
We're looking for a C6; frankly we're becoming obsessed. It's hard. Haven't seen a Vette we don't like!

We couldn't get to the GTG this week.

If we had we would have asked owners about:
* dealer sold US cars and warranty,
* how to find aftermarket exhausts in the GTA,
* does the Nav system have comprehensive Canadian mapping?

I must aplogize for not sharing photos that I took of cars at the GTG we attended. My email has been down for almost a month, and I don't have the computer skills to restore it.

Regards,
Dave L
Mississauga, Ontario
Old 07-23-2007, 09:15 AM
corrado
Le Mans Master

Received 218 Likes on 114 Posts
2021 C6 of the Year Finalist - Modified

Hello Dave, I remember you and your wife.

While I am no expert on the US bought car thing, from what I understand, you can buy a USED car from the US and they are MUCH cheaper. (A NEW C6 in the US is around $43). There are steps you must take however, look up the RIV website (I think thats what it is) The car has to have over 11 or 12 thousand kms before the warranty is good here.

As far as exhaust goes, those are MUCH cheaper in the states as well. However, I got my BB bullets from Davenport racing, in Calgary, so I didn't get dinged with duty. The Bullets are great quality and were about $800, which is about half the price of some of the other systems. They are loud so not everyone likes them, but to me they are not loud enough! You can get them installed anywhere, they were a direct bolt on system. I got mine installed at NoyzBoyz in Scarboro.

As for the Nav system, I was too cheap to get one, but I have been bailed out by the other guys that do have them and always in Canada, so I assume they have complete Canadian maps.

Hope that helps any.