Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Detailing Acronyms

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2006, 02:07 AM
bugman
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Detailing Acronyms

Ok, here's a list I've compiled of some of the abbreviations I've seen in the car care forum here and on other car care sites. People tend to make up their own abbreviations of course, but the ones below are somewhat uniform.

Disclaimer - I'm not a pro, so there may be mistakes. Please correct me if you see errors. Just hoping this may save someone else a little confusion. As always, this info is on my web page also : bugmanweb - go there and click on "abbreviations". And the best way to get this is to download the pdf file, since that will be in color that is too difficult to reproduce here.

Hope this helps:

PDF FILE

Detailing Abbreviations and Product Numbers
http://www.bugmanweb.com

Abbreviations
106ff : Menzerna micro-fine polish. More agressive than Final Polish II, can remove 3000 grit sanding marks. Claim: that it can be used alone, without the need to "step down" to a milder product afterward.
1Z PP : 1Z or Einszett Paint Polish: a mild to medium polish.
303 : 303 protectant. For interior and exterior trim, plastic, vinyl, rubber.
39002, 39009 : 3M line of paint polishes. See full listing below.
  • 39002 : Effective with white pad, or with orange pad, to remove swirls, scratches, water spots.
  • 39009: milder product, used after 39002, or alone for light water spot removal or light paint polishing.
3M IHG : 3M's Imperial Hand Glaze.
"#7", #26, #6, etc : Meguiar's line of products. list below.
50/50 : a 1/2 water, 1/2 isopropyl alcohol solution ("IPA")
  • . Keep a bottle with you as you polish. Before each inspection, spray on, wipe off to remove residual polish product and see bare paint.