Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

California Duster Care & Feeding

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2009, 08:13 PM
George's_Vette
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Default California Duster Care & Feeding

So I'm new to the car detailing gig for my new C-6. Got a California Duster but it lacked instructions on how to properly care for the duster. Once you've cleaned the car a number of times how do you remove the collected dirt from the units fabric? I was able to remove the handle but there must be some way to wash the collected dirt from the units head?

George
Old 05-17-2009, 08:37 PM
Comfortably Numb
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

If you have not, I would wrap it in newspaper for a day or so and let some of the wax get absorbed from the fibers. You don't have to do much other than that - shake it to get small pieces of dirt out but thats it. You can take it off the handle and wash it - if you do that I would use a microfiber wash. But you don't have to wash it for quite some time IMO. It was such a pain to take off the handle I'd just buy another. But that's me.
Old 05-17-2009, 08:46 PM
0TH0001@properautocare.com
Former Vendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Honestly I would throw it in the garbage. I have yet to see a califorina duster that doesn't scratch paint. Maybe when they are fresh they don't, but as they pick up dirt, they become like little pieces of sand paper.
Old 05-17-2009, 09:07 PM
dvilin
Team Owner

Received 7,920 Likes on 4,806 Posts

Just shake it out, I have used mine for over a year without washing it and used properly it does not scratch the paint. Just dust the surface very lightly, and if the car is more than dusty then wash it, do not use the duster.
Old 05-18-2009, 12:16 AM
PurePrestige
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by TH0001