Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Please Critique My Products and Procedures

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 01:17 PM
SirDaniel
Account disabled by request 17 Apr 2018

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Please Critique My Products and Procedures

While I have been maintaining and preparing Corvettes for show since 1975, I am far from the level of expertise of some of you here on the board. (My first Corvettes were waxed with good 'old Turtle Wax in the green and white can.) I'd welcome any comments and/or suggestions.

I regularly wash with Meguiars Deep Crystal car wash, although I use Dawn prior to applying a fresh coat(s) of Rejex. I wash whenever necessary and apply Rejex every two months or so. I seldom drive my Corvette during Love Bug season and remove any bug juice within 24 hours using Deep Crystal wash only.

I use only Rejex on the exterior paint but frequently touch up between washings with Meguiars Quik Detailer. I also use Quik Detailer as a "spritz" while drying after a wash. This seems to provide a nice, deep, luster for the dark purple color. The Quik Detailer is only used "over" the Rejex.

I'm basically pleased with the results I'm obtaining but am certainly open to suggestions for a better process. This has been my basic process since switching to Rejex approximately six years ago.

Four specific questions:
Is the Dawn wash prior to fresh coat(s) of Rejex necessary or will the Deep Crystal suffice?

Since I'm only using Rejex and Quik Detailer, am I endangering the paint by not using an additional "protectant"? The heat and sunlight in Florida can be brutal.

I use the same procedure and products on my original sawblade wheels. Should I be using an additional specific product to protect the wheels?

Would I be better off using one of the more recently introduced quick detailer products rather than the vintage Meguiars Quik Detailer?

Thanks,
dan