Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Paint corection then? Coatings or Wax/Polish?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2016, 06:20 PM
Dicecal
Melting Slicks

Received 40 Likes on 30 Posts

Default Paint corection then? Coatings or Wax/Polish?

I'm considering a coating after having paint correction done on my car. I have no experience with coatings, I've always paint corrected with Menzerna products then used Zaino or black fire. I won't be doing the coatings my self, looking at detail shops in the area.

So what are the pros/cons to doing a coating? Looking at Opti coat, but open to others depending on what the shop offers. Or should I stick to what I know and put Zaino, Black fire or some other polish/sealant on after paint correction

Thanks in advance!
Old 07-02-2016, 07:10 PM
yamabob
Drifting

Received 743 Likes on 471 Posts

I seriously think only you can answer that. Each has it's positive's and negatives. I personally prefer not to install coatings( on my own). Durability of the coatings far exceed what a sealant can do let alone a true wax. I like the time spent applying sealants and wax's as I find it stress relieving
Many of today's coating have become much more user friendly. Opti-Gloss, Wolfgang Uber, and the list goes on. These offer a year or 2 protection and maybe longer depending on conditions. Many can be topped for a little extra "pop" and longevity. Of course you still need to apply proper wash techniques to reduce marring. You want to make sure the surface is as defect free as possible as you will be trapping these under the coatings.
If you really want to try one I'd suggest to polish that baby and apply some Wolfgang Uber yourself !
The following users liked this post:
Killrwheels@Autogeek (07-03-2016)
Old 07-02-2016, 08:51 PM
Broker99
Advanced

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

I would say the only downside is the cost. Alot of upsides.
Killrwheels@Autogeek (07-03-2016)