Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Whats best for a dark red color ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 03:38 PM
Dream C-5
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Whats best for a dark red color ?

Hi all,
I am new to the Corvette world. I just purchased an 03 50th Anniv. coupe with 11,000 iles on it. I noticed in the bright sunlight that the metalflakes in the paint really pop but I aslso noticed a lot of swirls in the paint My question is what is a good product to use on my Vette to remove the swirls and to protect it from getteing more in the future.
Thanks in advance.

Fred
Old 09-20-2004, 03:53 PM
ZaneO
Safety Car

Received 28 Likes on 5 Posts

The Porter Cable 7424 is a great tool to invest in. It makes life much easier. http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=47

I have had good success with Menzerna polishes and Poorboy's polishes. Another good one (espcially by hand) is Einzett polishes.

I really Klasse AIO with Wolfgang Sealant over it. Sealants and waxes are really a personal preference. You'll get bombarded with people telling you Zaino or NXT, but remember the most important aspect is prep work.

Remember also, that a good washing/drying technique, along with good towels and mitts will help maintain your swirl-free finish.

I buy my supplies from: www.pakshak.com www.topoftheline.com www.autogeek.net

Good luck and feel free to ask any other questions.
Old 09-20-2004, 04:47 PM
agentf1
Le Mans Master

St. Jude Donor '10

Try 3m SSR 39009 to remove the swirls then wipe down with 50/50 water and alchohol and apply Zaino. If you don't want to use Zaino I would go with Pinnacle Souveran but you will get no durability from a carnuba. Definetly get a PC 7336.
Old 09-20-2004, 05:10 PM
wildman378
Melting Slicks

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

If you buy pinnacle wax get the signature it's better for DARK metallics where as soveran is better on dark SOILD colors.