Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

WHAT is clay bar? Why use it?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2004, 12:39 AM
paceace
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default WHAT is clay bar? Why use it?

Hi All. I just bought my first Corvette (2003 ZO6 anniversary, red). I have owned several nice cars before (BMW,Lexus) but have never heard of nor have I been offered clay bar treatment.
I took my car to get washed at the regular detail place, and the first thing they offered me is the clay bar therapy. Is this related to the fiberglass construction of the car?
As I am new to Corvettes, is there a special way I need to treat and care for this car's finish? I always have my cars hand washed and waxed, but this clay bar thing took me by suprise. I am lacking in what I think are the skills necessary to use any power equipment on the finish of my car, if that is what is needed. Please be gentle on me........... :o
Old 10-25-2004, 12:54 AM
ZaneO
Safety Car

Received 28 Likes on 5 Posts

It is a bar of clay that removes contaminants from the paint. Even new cars will have rail dust, fall out, etc. It's relatively safe and really is beneficial to the paint.

IMO, you should really learn to care for your own cars. It will ensure they are taken care of properly and will give you a new sense of pride.

A good place to learn lots of basics about detailing is www.bettercarcare.com

If you have any specific questions, please feel free to ask. Lots different product users around here. Remember though, it's a process not a product. Everyone has their favorites, but it's all personal preference. Don't believe otherwise.

Old 10-25-2004, 04:27 AM
LS WON
Team Owner

Received 271 Likes on 233 Posts

Originally Posted by paceace
Hi All. I just bought my first Corvette (2003 ZO6 anniversary, red). I have owned several nice cars before (BMW,Lexus) but have never heard of nor have I been offered clay bar treatment.