Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Weekend Vs. Popp and Strelnieks

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2006, 03:49 PM
TedDBere
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default My Weekend Vs. Popp and Strelnieks

Washington DC, SCCA ProSolo autox event June 25th weekend.

Let me start off with a little background. I've been learning to autox for 2 1/2 years now and have just started driving the Z06 this year in SS for some of the national events. I normally drive a coupe locally. So when it comes to autocross I'm a lot like most of you, totally average.

At the Walnut Ridge ProSolo earlier this year I was asked to move to SM2 to help some of my corvette buddies make a class for that event. Since I had no chance of trophying in SS I decided to help them out. (You need five in a class to maximize the contigency money available). They both won money and I finished 4th out of 6 for 11 championship points so everyone was a winner. But to qualify for the national Finale in September you have to compete in at least two ProSolo events in the same class. Thus forcing my hand to drive SM2 in DC to qualify for the finals.

So there I am this past weekend in the SM2 grid at the DC ProSolo with an SS car (thank you Aaron!) against Danny Popp (the legend), Erik Strelnieks (too many championships to count), Mr. Pickle, Bob Kasprzyk and three other regular SM2 cars and drivers wondering if I can get out of this weekend with my pride intact.

For those of you who don't know, an SS car is basically stock. A bunch of mods move a corvette to ASP (where the C6 Z06 plays) and a bunch more mods moves it to SM2. Running a stock car in SM2 is not something one yearns to do. And I imagine the feeling must be like having the smallest manhood at a nudest colony. I felt wholy inadequate amongst these beasts....