Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Guy considering a C6

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2006, 05:40 PM
gfacter
Pro

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Default New Guy considering a C6

Hello,

I have been lurking here recently, I have been looking at a low mile C5 Z and or a new C6. I am leaning towards the C6 right now.

I have been doing HPDE's for 4 years, plus 3 more on bikes, I am looking to replace my Honda S2000 with a Vette as a Street/HPDE machine.

I have a few questions

C6 Z51 brake rotors? Expensive? Should I just convert to C5 rotors? (I know they are cheap) How may days on a rotor (pretty agressive braking)

Pads? I ran Cobalt SPEC-VR/Spec C pads in my S2000 with good results, they are very hard on rotors though. Tried Carbotech XP10/XP9 combo, went throught the fronts in 3 days and cracked a rotor.

Tires? I have been using shaved RA'1s for a few years and have had good luck with them, I get 8-12 days out of a set. What tire sizes should I run front and rear?

The C5Z's seem to need extra oil, trans and diff coolers, are the C6 (Z51) ones adequate?

What else am I missing

Thank you.

George

PS anyone want a mint cond Honda S2000, gently driven on the weekends....
Old 09-28-2006, 06:20 PM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by gfacter
Hello,

I have been lurking here recently, I have been looking at a low mile C5 Z and or a new C6. I am leaning towards the C6 right now.

I have been doing HPDE's for 4 years, plus 3 more on bikes, I am looking to replace my Honda S2000 with a Vette as a Street/HPDE machine.

I have a few questions

C6 Z51 brake rotors? Expensive? Should I just convert to C5 rotors? (I know they are cheap) How may days on a rotor (pretty agressive braking)