Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What did you autocross before your vette?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2007, 10:23 AM
07C6TOY
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What did you autocross before your vette?

Hello all,

I'm looking into getting into autocross, but dont want to start with the vette. I just got my first corvette, and want to keep the warranty good on it for a while. Also, since I'm just getting into racing, I want to start out small and work my way up to the vette. I was talking to a friend who autocrosses and he recommended the Porsche 944. That is what he started out with and still drives and performs pretty well. I am looking for less than $5000 for the car and any fixes to bring it up to good stock condition.

What cars did all of you start out on before you moved to the corvette?
Old 07-11-2007, 10:28 AM
90Z51
Racer

I autocrossed a 95 M3. It's a bit over the $5000 mark, but you could find a NON-M E36 bmw to start with. They're pretty competent handlers and they have a huge aftermarket.
Old 07-11-2007, 10:37 AM
waddisme
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 45 Likes on 27 Posts

I have run my TA at Road Atlanta. You can get F-bodys pretty cheap, and plenty of aftermarket suspension upgrades. Handling on my TA is not far off from my Z06 as best as I can tell thru curves around here. Higher center of gravity and more weight are noticeable, but man the TA corners well with upgrades (see sig).
Old 07-11-2007, 10:38 AM
TommyBoy72
Pro

Mistubishi Eclipse in ESP and later SM. Then a Miata in CS and CSP.

The Miata was a great bang for the buck, and they still are. I will probably buy another someday.They were the easiest car to work on (other than oil filter location) and very inexpensive.
Old 07-11-2007, 10:55 AM
talon95
Pro

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts