Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Good times this weekend, I feel like a truck hit me

Old 07-15-2007, 08:30 PM
0Randy@DRM
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Good times this weekend, I feel like a truck hit me

Well about three weeks ago I got a phone call from a Ice racing friend. They having been running a huge Karting event for the past couple of years. They needed a 5 man team to run and only had 4 people. Sence I have some karting experience they called me in.

It was the most well ran event of this size I have ever seen. At the end of 12 hours of different heats they were running about 10 minutes late Here is the what the paper had to say about the event. http://www.mankatofreepress.com/spor...196011502.html

Now to the racing part of it.

Friday night we had some practice time. 3-8 minute runs were enough for us to learn the track and the different lines. My first impression of the track was "holy crap it is bumpy and fast" In the middle of the corner you had to work to keep on the gas because the bumps would throw your foot of the pedal.

Our team
Brian about 45 years old, x-motorcrosser and ice racer. He owns a Taco Bell and put up the 500 bucks for us to run

Lynn AKA Jackson. This guy has been SCCA and ice racing for 43 years! He is in pretty good shape for his age.

Bill Nelson, This guy was put on this earth for one thing, racing. Older then dirt, hasn't raced karts in 40 years because he suffered a broken foot karting in his younger years.

Mike, 42 years old and is hard core!!! We run neck and neck in on every track during ice racing and found out we are about .020 either way karting.

Me:o