Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

T1 Racers - Considering Taking The Plunge; Thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2007, 02:44 PM
mikahb
Vetteless
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09
Default T1 Racers - Considering Taking The Plunge; PLUNGED!!!

I wasn't intending to do this until the end of 2008, but I always have my eye out for a good deal and I think I've found one. I wondered if in this deep pool of T1 experience and talent, y'all might have some advice for somebody about to pull the trigger and go door-to-door racing.

I've been autocrossing for about 3 years now, and have always viewed it as a stepping stone to road racing. I'm a pretty competitive autocrosser and have maybe 15 DE's under my belt. I'm not the fastest guy out there, but I'm learning and making progress every time I run.

I have amassed a good racing setup with an enclosed trailer, tools, enough knowledge of the car to feel comfortable doing all normal maintenance, etc. So, I'm in a pretty good spot to sell my SS Z06 and drop a T1 Z into it's spot.

Obviously T1 is going to cost more to run than autocross on straight consumables. I won't be able to run a ton of races to start with (still have a 2-year-old at home) but I'd probably get to 6 or 7 races in 2008.

The car I'm looking at is Phoenix built, has about 10 races on it, and is very clean. No wrecks or damage on the car. It also comes with 7 sets of (used but not junk) tires, 2 sets of wheels, and some various spare brake and suspension parts. I have no dyno sheet, and the car is an '01, but I don't see that holding me back a lot in the first year or so. It has recently replaced rack-and-pinion, alternator, and hubs.