Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NASA and HPDE...what do I need to know?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2008, 10:39 PM
Drug Delivery
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default NASA and HPDE...what do I need to know?

Well, after purchasing my 2003 ZO6, I'm more inclined to get off the drag strip and onto a road course. I'm a NASA member but beyond that I'm clueless about getting in an HPDE event. Can you guys fill me in on the basics that I need to know.

I know I would be in HPDE 1 as I have no experience.
I have a properly rated helmet.
My car requires inspection before each event.

Do I need any sort of license?
Do I need numbers for my car?

Is is that simple?

thanks
Old 01-10-2008, 11:21 PM
0Randy@DRM
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by Drug Delivery
Well, after purchasing my 2003 ZO6, I'm more inclined to get off the drag strip and onto a road course. I'm a NASA member but beyond that I'm clueless about getting in an HPDE event. Can you guys fill me in on the basics that I need to know.

Is is that simple?

thanks
That is pretty much all you need to get started. A sound car, helment, tank of gas, some water, a good nights sleep can't hurt. There is a ton of guys on the forum that can get you pointed to your first event, that live in your area.

Randy
Old 01-10-2008, 11:57 PM
bowmanized
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You do need numbers to run NASA. I have a good friend that does my numbers as a side business. I can get you some. Other than that it helps to study the track and maybe read speed secrets 1. I would maybe recommend some better brake pads and fluid.
Old 01-11-2008, 12:19 AM
rustyguns
Le Mans Master

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by Randy@DRM