Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Springs, can they be too stiff?

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2008, 09:32 PM
steve40th
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03 & '05

Default Springs, can they be too stiff?

Seems to me, everything stock is not stiff enough, along with shocks.
SO my question is, when does a spring become to stiff in autoX?
Do you want the spring to allow some lean, and let the alignment and tires do the rest?
Old 02-06-2008, 09:49 PM
0RAAMaudio
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I am new to the Vette scene but pretty experienced in autocross with all types of drivetrains and have always preferred moderate springs, adjustable sway bars and the fattest, softest tires I am allowed to run in the class.

Plenty of negative camber, positvie caster, probably some tow out front and rear, may be the way to go, have not had the change to test yet, not for a few months here in Utah.

So, just general thoughts for now, more into track days and building up to road race now but I will run autocrosses because I like them and I can get my kids more involved(the main reason, keep them off the streets, teach them to really drive

Whatever you do, use light wheels!!!!

Rick
Old 02-06-2008, 11:50 PM
mrwrenchphd
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by steve40th
SO my question is, when does a spring become to stiff in autoX?
When it won't let you utilize all of your suspension travel in the conditions you normally drive/race in I would imagine. I thought my springs were to stiff in my track car so I put zip ties (some people use rubber bands) on my shock shafts & after the track day looked to see how much travel was used. Even with a wheel rate of 495lbs. it used it all. So I felt good about my set-up.
Old 02-07-2008, 12:06 AM
steve40th
Le Mans Master