Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock C4 AutoX costs?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 07:59 PM
rezenclowd3
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock C4 AutoX costs?

A repost of what I wrote in the "IM A NEWB!" Forums
Someone suggested I'd get a response here.

Just thought I would register. I am hoping to purchase a 96 Torch Red Vette in a couple weeks, which would become my new daily driver. Its in GREAT condition, 53K miles: $10900. Some bra wear mainly.... I took it for several test drives and it all sounds and feels fine. If all goes as planned at work here, this will be my first car purchase, before that a 89 Volvo 240DL and a 92 Ford Crown Vic that I inherited when my Grandfather passed away.

I am curious, but I would like to autox this car maybe 6 times a year in stock form, stock tires etc. Would it be worth it to buy a spare set of tires/rims for only 6x a year? Currently I race electric RC cars 2x per month, which costs about $90 per day, including upkeep between races. The RC car itself costs over $1000! However I would love to replace some of my RC addiction with the real deal. I plan on taking some driving lessons as well if possible. Anyone here that could compare RC racing costs to autox? If not, you do the math and you see what I was spending on RC, is this comparable to autox costs?

Ill be reading the boards as much as possible to help me out with any Vette problems I have obsessed over this 96 since I took a test drive

BTW, the screen name is NOT implying I use illegal drugs, just a dumb screen name that I have used since my introduction to forums and chatting over 15 years ago. Just want to get that out of the way ;-)

Last edited by rezenclowd3; 10-21-2008 at 08:02 PM.
Old 10-21-2008, 08:51 PM
rezenclowd3
Intermediate