Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Structural Integrity of older tires

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2009, 04:03 PM
Exotica
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 52 Likes on 22 Posts

Default Structural Integrity of older tires

I am considering buying a brand new pair of Kumho v710s that have been stored since 2003.

Any issues with buying tires that have been sitting around that long? I realize they may not be as fast as a recent set, but I am still new to the track scene so I am not as worried about fastest time as I am about getting time in the seat.

Are there any other issues I need to be concerned about when buying a set of tires that old for track use?

Thanks.

Last edited by Exotica; 02-12-2009 at 05:31 PM.
Old 02-12-2009, 04:16 PM
Kubs
Le Mans Master

Received 1,754 Likes on 941 Posts
2023 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
2022 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
St. Jude Donor '09-'10-'11

I would like to know too. I just got some old GSC competition tires for next to nothing but they have been out of production for years.
Old 02-12-2009, 06:11 PM
Kanmer
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Cruise-In VI Veteran

TIres have a shelf life due to the composition of the rubber breaking down. I would not have anything over 6 years old on any vehicle. There have been numerous stories on the news about this very subject.

Bob
Old 02-12-2009, 07:01 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 711 Likes on 492 Posts

About 3 years is as far as I would go....I have some 2 years old slicks that have already hardened a good bit, but are still safe.

That being said, if you can take a look at them and they aren't dry rotted, or showing signs of cracking, they may be worth a try if they are nearly free.
Old 02-12-2009, 07:01 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts