Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stock brakes and fluid in 08 Z

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2009, 04:19 PM
C5 Hardtop
Race Director

Received 272 Likes on 163 Posts

Default Stock brakes and fluid in 08 Z

So I'm going to T-Hill (yay!) in two days. Its a really short notice for me and my car is completely stock, right down to the warped rotors. But I love that track soooooo much, I just can't help myself!

I have some new rotors to replace the warped ones, but I'm a bit nervous about the pads and fluid as I haven't ran like that before and I'm new to the car.

My experince level was a high intermediate with corvettes in 1999-2004 and I wasn't hard on brakes at that time.

However, its now 2009, tracking isn't like riding a bike and I haven't had much seat time so my confidence is down, my speed is down and I signed up for the beginners group with coach.

My question is, am I dumb to not change out the pads and fluid or does my experience level say that I'll be OK for a 1 day event with stock pads and fluid? I was thinking I could go in early, say after 15 minutes of each session.

The most I can do is swap out the fluid and change the rotors. I can't get pads in time nor do I have the cash for pads right now.
Old 08-11-2009, 04:53 PM
Jason
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7 Veteran

I'd think you'd be ok. You'll recognize if they start to fade.
Old 08-11-2009, 05:13 PM
Stevo92z28
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You'll be fine on stock pads, at least i was. I would go ahead and swap some high temp DOT4 synthetic fluid in. Any kind of fresh brake fluid will suffice though.
Old 08-11-2009, 05:51 PM
Dreamin
Melting Slicks

Received 28 Likes on 9 Posts

I did my first 2 events in my Z with factory pads, fluid, rotors, tires... the first one was at Thunderhill... No problems