Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

SCCA Events Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2009, 09:45 PM
BERETTA
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 113 Likes on 78 Posts

Default SCCA Events Questions-My Experience Posted! Video Added

Hello all, I am really wanting to go to the SCCA event at Memphis Motorsports Park this weekend, I want to take my C5 ZO6, it is pretty much stock, I want to do the Performance Driving Experience, I have no road race experience, I have ran a few autocrosses, and really would like to improve my skills in the low speed autocross events. Does anyone know what the maximum speed is if any? It looks like they will be using the drag strip for the straight away, and if there is no limit you could really be moving on that part of the track. I would appreciate any input anyone would like to offer with your past experiences in these kind of events. Thanks to all!

My weekend experience post #11!

I took a couple videos with my cell phone, My instructor was driving my C5 ZO6 he definitely taught me a thing or two!

Last edited by BERETTA; 08-30-2009 at 07:16 AM. Reason: update video added!
Old 08-20-2009, 07:32 AM
urtoslo
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The SCCA performance driving events at WDCR region don't have any maximum speed limit. Speeds at Summit Point can get to 140mph when you know what you're doing, even 120mph is possible on the first day in a Z06.

Ask the SCCA officials there what you can reasonably expect.
Old 08-20-2009, 08:12 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

many times, no matter which event you are going to, MAX speed is not as important as learning the lines, being smooth, relaxed, and seeing what is going on. That is more important then MAX speed. Work on the CORNERS and relax on the straights at first.