Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How much ABS response in an autocross?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 07:12 PM
Thrillhouse
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default How much ABS response in an autocross?

I ran my first autocross in my 08 Z51 is past weekend. I've been autocrossing for many years in lots of different cars, but I've never gotten as much ABS activity as I got in the 'vette. The ABS was just going nuts constantly. I'm used to only getting ABS on really hard braking right before hairpins and stuff, but I was getting heavy ABS just slowing for slalom entries and such.

Conditions weren't great for grip. 47 degrees and OEM Goodyear's with 17000 miles, but in even colder conditions last year I didn't get this kind of ABS activity in my G37S.

Does the 'vette have more aggressive ABS, or is it just my crummy tires/conditions?
Old 10-12-2009, 07:30 PM
gkmccready
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

My '06 Z51 will only engage ABS with a good solid *stomp* on the pedal... I've never had it come on when I wasn't expecting it/asking for it.
Old 10-12-2009, 07:33 PM
gonzalezfj
Melting Slicks

Did you have the A/H on? Competitive mode?

A/H uses the ABS system to help control the car.

Frank Gonzalez
Old 10-12-2009, 07:39 PM
steponc
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
St. Jude Donor '14

Since you are an experienced auto-xer it is probably due to leaving the active handling on. The yaw censor combined with your speed and turning angles probably set the A/H into action which uses the ABS also.
I run with everything off and if I forget to turn A/H off I can get ABS with just light pressure on the brakes with active handling on.
Old 10-12-2009, 07:51 PM
Thrillhouse
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!