Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PFC99/XP8 mix - good idea?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2010, 10:27 AM
errance
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PFC99/XP8 mix - good idea?

Car is stock 2007 coupe Z51 on street tires. Over the last 3 HPDE seasons, I have progressed from absolute beginner to intermediate. For brake pads, I went from C6Z51 to Hawk HP+ to C5Z06. I need to find the next level up, especially since I may go to better tires (R888?) soon.

At $115, PFC99 sold by MBS is an attractive option for the front. Unfortunately, PFC rear are only available in Z (not good enough?) or 01 (too good compared to 99 fronts, not cheap).

Many people like the Carbotech XP10/XP8 combo. XP8 seems to be a semi-affordable option and good rear for intermediate HPDE drivers.

I'm thinking about doing PFC99/XP8. Good mix? Bad idea?
Old 05-07-2010, 11:48 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

that is quite a front brake bias. Don't really thing those XP8s will balance the PFC99s very well.
Old 05-07-2010, 12:12 PM
sothpaw2
Safety Car

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by errance
Car is stock 2007 coupe Z51 on street tires. Over the last 3 HPDE seasons, I have progressed from absolute beginner to intermediate. For brake pads, I went from C6Z51 to Hawk HP+ to C5Z06. I need to find the next level up, especially since I may go to better tires (R888?) soon.

At $115, PFC99 sold by MBS is an attractive option for the front. Unfortunately, PFC rear are only available in Z (not good enough?) or 01 (too good compared to 99 fronts, not cheap).

Many people like the Carbotech XP10/XP8 combo. XP8 seems to be a semi-affordable option and good rear for intermediate HPDE drivers.

I'm thinking about doing PFC99/XP8. Good mix? Bad idea?