Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP - Brake fluid and Dealer problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2010, 10:56 AM
kermooni
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default HELP - Brake fluid and Dealer problem

My old dealer is now gone. The new one will not flush my brake lines with the SRF becasue it is a DOT 4 - not 3. they claimed they called Chev and they do not recommend DOT4 becasue it might damage the brake seals I have been running on SRF (2 -3 HPDE weekends per year) for three years now without an issue.

Is the dealer right?

Old 05-13-2010, 11:37 AM
0Randy@DRM
Former Vendor

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by kermooni
My old dealer is now gone. The new one will not flush my brake lines with the SRF becasue it is a DOT 4 - not 3. they claimed they called Chev and they do not recommend DOT4 becasue it might damage the brake seals I have been running on SRF (2 -3 HPDE weekends per year) for three years now without an issue.

Is the dealer right?

No the dealer is dead wrong. The SRF has been in hundreds of vettes over the years.

We can do it here, but it's a bit of a drive. Bruce @ Village will do it, can't think of too many people that way that you can trust.

Randy
Old 05-13-2010, 11:38 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Time to learn how to do it your self. Dealers are just

If it is not in the manuals, they wont do it
Old 05-13-2010, 12:20 PM
longdaddy
Drifting

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

brake work is one of the things where peace of mind definitely outweights the hassle as far as doing it yourself goes.
Old 05-13-2010, 01:00 PM
ErnieN85
Safety Car

Received 264 Likes on 221 Posts

Originally Posted by AU N EGL
Time to learn how to do it your self. Dealers are just

If it is not in the manuals, they wont do it

find some one to show you how!