Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sidewall cracking, Hoosier WETs

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 08:22 AM
kmagvette
Burning Brakes

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Sidewall cracking, Hoosier WETs

I just got a set of Hoosier WETS, NC85 compound, from a used rubber dealer Sorry. Anyway, each of the sidewalls has cracks on them. The vendor is suggesting this is normal. I am not comfortable with that answer, but I am not a tire expert either. The vendor has been very good over the past 5 years. I was hoping that a few of you racer guys would opine. Here are some links to pictures. Could they be freeze cracks? Are they safe to use?

Crack1
Crack2
Crack3
Crack4
Crack5

Last edited by kmagvette; 05-26-2010 at 09:15 AM. Reason: clarification
Old 05-26-2010, 08:25 AM
drivinhard
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

I have seen Hoosiers do that from being on the car when flat (being moved/rolled, etc)
Old 05-26-2010, 09:33 AM
CHJ In Virginia
Safety Car

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

What are the date codes on the tires - older codes 3 or more years old will be a hardness problem. How far down do the cracks in the rubber go ? Are they all the way to the sidewall cords ? If they are, I would ask for my money back. If the cracks are not deep and the date codes are fairly recent, I would run the tires while watching closely for any further deterioration or depth increase in the crack areas.
Old 05-26-2010, 09:44 AM
kmagvette
Burning Brakes

Best I can tell there are no date codes...I looked. These are not DOT tires, the only designation melted into the side wall is NC85, there is another oval next to that where I would expect the date codes, but it is blank.
Old 05-26-2010, 12:16 PM
froggy47
Race Director

Received 194 Likes on 164 Posts

Originally Posted by kmagvette