Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6Z Track Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 03:25 PM
B505
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6Z Track Wheels

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the vette community and I had a couple quick questions. I'm an intermediate driver when it comes to auto-x and road racing and I've always believed in more seat time vs more aftermarket parts in ANY car. I come from having owned a 300zx TT and a Lancer EVO IX MR, so my Z06 vette is by far better than both worlds and I want to get some track time in it. I've been reading on the forums and it appears that there are a few alternatives to running some good wheel/tire setups. What can you all recommend?

The Question!~
Whats the cheapest/most cost effective way to go about this? I'm considering buying a set of OEM Z06 wheels with some hoosier R6s on them.
Should I be running 18s all around instead?
Whats the cheapest/most effective way to go about getting the right 18s.

I'm not turning this into a race car, but will be doing 2-3 HPDE events a year with an occasional Auto-x. So as far as plans go, it will stay all stock except for wheels/tires/pads. MOD THE DRIVER NOT THE CAR!! =)
Old 07-07-2010, 05:28 PM
gmccreary
Drifting

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I've run my 09 C6Z at Road Atlanta and Roebling Road with stock pads and tires and it's still incredible although the tires/pads will not last long. Most recommend going 18" all around and I recall 18"x11" for the front and 18"x13" for the rear is what most guys are using. If you're only going to do a couple of events a year you may want to try Nitto NT05s. 285/35-18 and 335/35-19 on stock wheels.
Old 07-07-2010, 06:31 PM
JDIllon
Melting Slicks

Received 295 Likes on 76 Posts