Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Master Electrical Cutoff Switch Install - Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2010, 12:39 PM
sperkins
Le Mans Master

Received 44 Likes on 35 Posts

Default Master Electrical Cutoff Switch Install - Help Needed

I'm a newbie when it comes to electrical work. How did you guys install this switch on your car?
Apparently, there are 2 methods to install this thing - a one wire and a two wire method. Which is best/easier?

Mine is the 4 post version:

Old 09-27-2010, 12:50 PM
redtopz
Melting Slicks

Received 44 Likes on 27 Posts

I just installed mine a month ago. I have the same exact 4 post switch as you and installed it on my passenger side roll bar near the glove compartment. We welded a small plate to the bar to hold the switch and then ran the 1/0 welding wire (for the battery) and smaller wire for the alternator down through the dash and through the firewall hole underneath the glove compartment. The large posts on the switch are for the battery and the small posts are for the alternator. I cut the alternator wire at the alternator and ran a wire along the back of the engine compartment to the switch. Then ran another wire from the switch back to the alternator. Same for the battery. Get some good terminals and solder your splices with good connectors. The only hard part is getting the wires through the firewall. You will need a helper to pull the wires while you feed them. I can take pics tomorrow if that would help.
Old 09-27-2010, 01:14 PM
varkwso
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

pictures would be very nice.
Old 09-27-2010, 02:47 PM
Jason
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7 Veteran

Talk to Tim Marcinek he's got it down simple.
Old 09-27-2010, 03:27 PM
varkwso
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Jason