Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 ZR1 Brakes on a C5 - Serious Inquiry

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2011, 09:26 AM
Pumba
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 102 Likes on 56 Posts

Default C6 ZR1 Brakes on a C5 - Serious Inquiry

Gentlemen,

I would like to know if any member of this forum has actually installed or knows first-hand of someone who has installed C6 ZR1 brakes on a C5?

I would like to here about the factual physical installation concerns.

I have just intalled 19 x 10 inch front and 20 x 12 inch rear wheels, so I know I have clearance for the brakes.
Old 04-04-2011, 02:05 PM
BEZ06
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 833 Likes on 594 Posts

I have no knowledge of anybody that has put the ZR1 brakes on a C5 - I think you'll be the pioneer of this mod!!!

Take a look at this thread. You can see that RichieRichZ06 is the contact guy to get more info. He has sold ZR1 brake kits to quite a number of C6 owners - the kit is going for around $8,000:

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c6-z...-under-8k.html

Initially there was concern that they might not work on anything before 2009 because Chebie changed from a Delphi ABS to one made by Bosch at that time.

However, I don't think that matters at all. Essentially you're just adding a BBK, and I think your ABS controller (EBCM/BPMV) will recognize a wheel locking up no matter what rotor, caliper, pad, tire, brake fluid, or driving shoe is doing it.

I think if it will fit on your car that it should work just fine, but you may be the first one to do it on a C5. Contact RichieRichZ06 to see what he knows.

Let us know if it works!!!

Bob
Old 04-04-2011, 02:17 PM
davidfarmer
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 709 Likes on 490 Posts