Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine break-in

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2011, 09:24 AM
rad_vet
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine break-in

Sorry for another dumb question.

I just replaced the motor in my z06 with a new ls6 (over the top with headers). This is my first new engine, so I have no experience starting a new engine. I made the mistake of googling engine breakin and got mixed results. What is the proper break-in proceedure for the ls6? The car is mostly a track car.
Thanks.

Tony
Old 06-14-2011, 09:45 AM
RaleighSS
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Is this a Crate motor ?
Old 06-14-2011, 09:48 AM
redtopz
Melting Slicks

Received 44 Likes on 27 Posts

I am going through the same process. You will hear many different opinions on this subject. What I have heard (and it may or may not be true) is that GM broke in our original engines prior to installing in the corvettes. Then they filled with synthetic oil and we were good to go. Only the clutch and drivetrain needed to be broken in. However, I've heard the same is not true of the crate engines and that they should be broken in. The way I was told to break it in by a respected engine builder is to run dino oil and do several 4000 - 5000 rpm pulls followed by decels using only engine braking to seat the rings. This could also be done on a dyno I suppose. It's also a good idea to check the tune on a dyno for proper air/fuel ratio. Then go out and beat the crap out of it with good synthetic oil.

However, I skipped the 1st 2 steps of this process and just went out and beat the crap out of it in 2 T1 races right off the bat.
Old 06-14-2011, 09:58 AM
rad_vet
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts