Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hawk HP+ as an all around pad?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2012, 12:03 AM
Supercharged111
Safety Car

Received 472 Likes on 349 Posts

Default Hawk HP+ as an all around pad?

I ran Hawk HPS pads in my truck and got 40k out of them. They bit better than whatever junk was in there before, so they seemed OK. I was thinking of going HP+ on the Vette though. It's one of those do it all cars: street, auto-x, HPDE. I've faded brakes before and it sucks. Since I have no experience with the HP+, I'm wondering if it comes recommended by my peers? I saw a couple threads pushing Carbotechs, but I'd always envisioned those as a track only pad. . . How many miles should I expect out of them? I do realize what a loaded question that is.
Old 03-06-2012, 12:57 AM
KNSBrakes
Supporting Vendor

Received 360 Likes on 283 Posts

HP+

Great cold bite and generally consistent and easy to use. Halfway between street and track friction.

Decent fade resistance but ultimately will fade on track at some point.

Moderate pad and rotor wear until overheated. The dust is a bit aggressive.

It is certainly one of the best auto-x pads made but can prove to be too aggressive (noise/dust) for some street users - and not enough for some track users.
Old 03-06-2012, 10:42 AM
oh1vette
Safety Car

Received 153 Likes on 117 Posts

Not for me.....

Waaayyyy toooo dusty for street application in my opinion. After 2 days of my commute (80 mi/not alot of stop and go) the wheels were black

I switched to the HP and there is way less dusting...my guess 75% less....

Guess it would depend on your percentage of street Vs the HPDE/AutoX...
Old 03-06-2012, 10:50 AM
redtopz
Melting Slicks

Received 44 Likes on 27 Posts

Originally Posted by KNSBrakes
HP+