Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Autocross in my C5Z06

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 12:57 PM
otofmyway6
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default First Autocross in my C5Z06

I did my first autocross yesterday in my C5Z06 with Westchester Sports Car Club in NY. Being a complete novice, I wasn't even sure I was going to go, but I woke up early, and decided to just clear out my car of things that would shift aruond and drove to the location. I didn't really check the tire pressures, i just knew they were proper for the road. When I got there and told them I was a complete novice, they were extremely helpful in walking me around the track (which turned out to be real confusing for me).

Long story short, on 9 runs, with tremendous help from the onsite instructors and other people lending me misc tools and things, i managed to drop my time on the course from 52.6 seconds in the middle of the morning session to 46.3 seconds on my last run. It was incredible fun, i had an amazing time, my rear tires certainly suffered, and it was CLEAR my car has so much more potential in it than I had skill. It was so much fun, and I felt like I could finally appreciate my car. The downsides were, as is often mentioned on these forums, these seats are garbage! I found myself constantly letting go of the steering wheel with the left hand to hold the door on right hand turns. I know of the seatbelt trick (i looked it up on corvetteforum when i was on the line), but that just didnt help enough!